Dempsey Insurance Agency Blog

GETTING OR RENEWING A MA DRIVER’S LICENSE, LEARNER’S PERMIT, OR MA ID CARD?

Kate Dempsey Mar 22, 2018 11:23:08 AM
0

On March 26, 2018, you need documents showing U.S. citizenship or lawful presence as required by federal and state law. Review the checklist below for the types of documents you will need. All documents MUST be originals.

Get Ready:

Step 1: Locate your Social Security Number

(Choose one document for REAL ID. For a Standard ID, SSN must be verified electronically.

  • SSN Card
  • W-2 Form                                                              
  • SSA-1099 Form
  • Non-SSA-1099 Form
  • Pay stub with applicant's name and SSN

* Applications without an SSN must present an SSA denial notice, forgein passport, VISA and 1-94. Documents presented must display full nine digits of SSN.

 

Step 2: Choose one lawful presence/date of birth document

   

  • US Passport/Passport card
  • Certified copy of US birth certificate
  • Certificate of Citizenship (Form N-560 or N-561)
  • Certificate of Naturalization (Form N-561 or N570)
  • Consular Report of Birth Abroad (Form FS-240, DS-1350 or FS-545)
  • Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551)
  • Employment Authorization Card (Form I-766 or I-688B)
  • Foreign Passport with US VISA Affixed and I-94 Stamp

 

Step 3: Choose a MA residency document (2 for REAL ID, 1 for MA Standard ID)

  • MA RMV-issued documents such as a renewal letter
  • State/Federal/Municipal/City/Town/Country Agency-issued documents such as 1st class mail, MA-issued professional license with photo, Medicaid statement, firearms card, jury duty summons, court correspondence, property tax or excise tax dated within 60 days
  • Bills such as a utility bill, credit card statement or medical statements dated within 60 days
  • Lease, mortgage or rental contract dated within 60 day
  • Financial-related documents such as a blank statement with image of personal checks, W-2, pension statement, retirement statement pay stubs, SSA statement or instalment loan contract dated within 60 days
  • School-issued documents such as school transcript, proof of enrolment, tuition bill, school record for the current year

 

Get Your License/ID

  • Start application online at Mass.gov/ID
  • For renewals applicants must choose:
    • Standard license or ID card: may be able to complete online
    • REAL ID license or ID card: must visit a RMV Service Center or AAA office (if a member)
  • All first-time applicants must visit a RMV Service Center and bring appropriate documents
  • A REAL ID license/ID costs the same as a Standard license/ID

For more information visit: mass.gov/ID
Rev. 3/12/18 by MA RMV


Read More

New Hampshire Hands-Free Law Begins July 1.

Kate Dempsey Jun 30, 2015 12:32:00 PM
0

If you’re northbound for the holiday, it’s important to note that New Hampshire’s newest anti-distracted driving law takes effect tomorrow, Wednesday, July 1.

Beginning tomorrow, it’s illegal to use a handheld phone while driving in New Hampshire. So for those of you heading north, make sure your calls are made, texts are sent and GPS is turned to “loud” before getting behind the wheel – and if you need to use your phone while on the road, find a safe spot to pull over.

And just a tip: don’t try to send that quick text or look up directions while you’re stopped at a red light or stop sign, the new law forbids that, too.

From all of us at Dempsey Insurance, we wish you and your family a happy, safe and fun Fourth of July Weekend.

Read More

Learning About The New Massachusetts Headlight Law

Kate Dempsey Apr 7, 2015 8:48:00 AM
0

2710d500-61a9-48a2-8391-e7cc549c91ac

Effective, today, April 7, 2015, a new Massachusetts law requires drivers to turn on their headlights when their vehicle's windshield wipers are in use. The law also states that headlights should be in use 30 minutes before sunrise and sunset or when visibility is less than 500 feet. 

Drivers can be ticketed for failing to comply with the new headlight law. For more information or to view the full law, click here. A violation is subject to a $5 fine and is considered a surchargeable minor motor vehicle traffic offense for insurance purposes.

 

Help us spread the word about this new law by sharing our post.

 

Read More

In an Accident? Now What? Tips from a Massachusetts Insurance Agent

Patrick Dempsey Jun 24, 2012 9:00:00 AM
0

When you are involved in an auto accident it can be a traumatic experience. Here are some tips to get through the ordeal from the perspective of a Massachusetts Insurance Agent.

auto accident resized 600
Read More